How to watch the PLL Championship Series: Teams, schedule

M. Anthony Nesmith/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

While the 2024 PLL regular season won't begin until May 31 in Albany, New York, the Championship Series took place Feb. 14-19 at The St. James in Springfield, Virginia, and broadcast on the networks of ESPN.

This event featured the top four teams from last regular season -- the Utah Archers, Philadelphia Waterdogs, Boston Cannons and California Redwoods -- playing a round-robin schedule before the semifinals and championship game.

The teams will be playing in a different format -- a 6-on-6 configuration, or "sixes" for short, which will be how the sport will be played when it returns to the Olympics in 2028.

Read on for the schedule of games, broadcast details, a look at each team's uniforms, and some quick notes on how "sixes" is different from a traditional game of field lacrosse.

Championship Series schedule

Note: All times listed are ET. Find each specific game on the PLL homepage on ESPN+.

Wednesday, Feb. 14

Redwoods 26, Cannons 25

Waterdogs 21, Archers 18

Friday, Feb. 16

Waterdogs 20, Redwoods 14

Cannons 26, Archers 19

Saturday, Feb. 17

Redwoods 18, Archers 16

Waterdogs 22, Cannons 12

Sunday, Feb. 18

Semifinal 1: Cannons 23, Redwoods 15

Semifinal 2: Waterdogs 27, Archers 21

Monday, Feb. 19

Championship: Cannons 23, Waterdogs 22

How 'Sixes' is different

  • There are no long-stick players in "Sixes," and all the runners will essentially play as midfielders on a 70-by-36-meter field.

  • The shot clock is much shorter. At 30 seconds, it will increase the speed of the game, compared to 52 seconds in traditional PLL games, 80 seconds in NCAA men's games, 90 seconds in NCAA women's games and no shot clock in international games.

  • Instead of returning to midfield for a faceoff after goals, there will be quick restarts, with the goalie starting the play up again.

  • In traditional field lacrosse, there is a race for the sideline when a shot goes out of bounds, with the closest player awarded possession. In "Sixes," possession is awarded to the defense.

For more on the rules, access the full PLL rule book here.


Each of the four teams will be wearing special jerseys for the Championship Series: