Moises Henriques added to Australia's squad for first Test, Sean Abbott ruled out

Moises Henriques acknowledges his century Getty Images

Moises Henriques has joined the Test squad as cover for Cameron Green even as Australia's injury woes continued with Sean Abbott ruled out of the first Test in Adelaide. Abbott had picked up a calf strain in the day-night tour match at the SCG on Saturday. He will remain in Sydney to continue his rehabilitation but is expected to join the squad for the second Test.

One good news coming in for Australia was that Green was making steady progress in his recovery from the mild concussion he suffered during the SCG tour game. Green, Henriques and Mitchell Starc were among the Australian players flying into Adelaide together on Monday on the same charter plane that dropped the Indian touring party from Sydney to South Australia.

Henriques, Cricket Australia said, recovered from a mild hamstring strain which had ruled him out of the Australia A game against the Indians, at the SCG. He passed a fitness test on Monday to join the injury-hit squad. Henriques had made a comeback during the recent ODIs and T20Is against India after over three years, having last played in 2016.

Henriques is also a late addition to the squad. Earlier opener Marcus Harris had replaced the concussed Will Pucovski. Pucovski was struck on the helmet late in the Australia A match against the Indians at Drummoyne Oval.

Apart from captain Tim Paine, Australia now have six batting options in their squad - Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Joe Burns and Marcus Harris - along with allrounders Green and Henriques. Among their fast bowlers are Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, James Pattinson and Michael Neser, with Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Swepson the spin options.

Squad for first Test: Tim Paine (capt & wk), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade